Being a pedestrian can be treacherous in the winter in Colorado. Snow removal mandates are in place in many municipalities to help keep walkways safe and passable. When a business or property owner does not clear snow and ice in a timely manner, he or she may be held liable for your injuries if you slip and fall.
If you or a loved one is injured in a slip and fall accident this winter, you may be entitled to compensation for your injuries. The Frickey Law Firm has been helping accident victims in Colorado since 1958, and our premises liability lawyers know what it takes to get results.
When Can I Sue if I Slip and Fall on Ice?
It can be difficult to know whether you have a slip and fall case. Generally, you and our lawyer will need to be able to demonstrate that:
- You were authorized to be on the property.
- There was a hazardous condition that caused your injury.
- The hazardous condition was known or should have been known by the property or business owner.
- The property or business owner was negligent in addressing the hazardous condition.
Snow Removal Ordinances and Premises Liability
When snow or ice is involved, snow removal ordinances may affect how negligence is determined. Snow removal rules vary from one city to the next and may differ for residents and businesses. Typically, the clock starts ticking on snow and ice removal once snowfall has stopped. Failure to clear sidewalks and parking lots of snow and ice within the following time frames can be considered negligence:
- Arvada - Twenty-four hours for residents and businesses.
- Boulder – Twenty-four hours for residents and businesses.
- Denver – Four hours for businesses and 24 hours for residents.
- Golden – Twelve hours for businesses and 24 hours for residents.
- Lakewood – Twenty-four hours for businesses and residents.
If a property owner or business has not met the applicable snow removal requirements, and you are injured as a result, you may be able to sue for damages.
What Damages can I Recover after a Slip and Fall on Ice?
A slip and fall injury can disrupt your life in many ways. From the physical effects of your injury and related medical costs, to the financial stress of missing work, and the emotional toll of pain and suffering, it is easy to feel hopeless. However, with one of our skilled and caring attorneys working with you, you may be able to recover for your:
- Medical expenses
- Rehabilitation costs
- Lost income
- Future loss of income
- Pain and suffering
If the injury is fatal, a wrongful death claim can also recover funeral and burial expenses.
How Long do I Have to File a Slip and Fall Lawsuit?
The statute of limitations for slip and fall cases is two years, as stated in the Colorado Revised Statutes section 13-80-102. This means that you have two years from the date of your injury to take legal action or you forfeit your right to do so. If the injury results in death, you have two years from the date of the victim’s death to take action.
In general, you want to contact one of our experienced attorneys as soon as possible after your injury. We can take on the work of building your case, filing the necessary paperwork, and other important tasks so you can focus on healing and rehabilitating from your injury. We can also manage deadlines and documentation of your injury and healing process
Call Us for a Complimentary Consultation
It is common for slip and fall victims to feel embarrassed about having an accident. You may even think you are partly responsible or don’t have a case, but you have nothing to lose by calling our office. We offer a free initial consultation, and if we take your case, we work on a contingent fee basis. This means that you only pay attorneys’ fees if we obtain a favorable outcome for you.
Call us at 303-237-7373. We serve clients in Denver, Lakewood, Boulder, and the surrounding areas of Colorado.